P: 815.748.5383     F: 815.748.5873
Serving DeKalb County, IL Since 1993

Community members are welcomed and encouraged to submit nominations for the 2017 DeKalb County Excellence in Education Awards. Nominations are accepted at the DeKalb County Community Foundation (475 DeKalb Avenue, Sycamore, IL 60178) until November 1.

Excellence in Education web flyer

Established in 1999 by retired Sycamore elementary school teacher, Yvonne Johnson, the Excellence in Education Awards are made possible through an endowment fund at the DeKalb County Community Foundation. The purpose of the awards is to honor and acknowledge outstanding teachers, administrators and support staff from school districts throughout DeKalb County. Winners each year receive $1,000 and are recognized during a reception in March.

“The most important quality of a nominee should be his or her superior ability to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities,” said Amanda Christensen, DeKalb County Regional Superintendent.

Additional nominee eligibility requirements are found on the nomination form.

The five categories for nominations are: teacher grades Pre-K to 5, teacher grades 6 – 8, teacher grades 9 – 12, school support staff, and administration. Nominations will be reviewed by a committee of teachers and administrators. The committee seeks nominations from the community members and each school district.

For more information contact Anita Zurbrugg, anita@dekalbccf.org, or call 815-748-5383.

Pictured: 2016 Excellence in Education Awards from left to right: Amanda Christensen, DeKalb County Regional Superintendent; Yvonne Johnson, Philanthropist; Jonathan Liechty, Recipient; Shelly Tripp, Recipient; Kendra Brauer, Recipient; Barb Evenson, Recipient; Ryan Janisch, Recipient; Dan Templin, DeKalb County Community Foundation Executive Director.


  1. Dave says:

    I wanted to submit a nomination form for 2017 but the form is for 2016. is that current form to use?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *